Free RI DUI/Criminal Legal Consultation!
Call now 24/7 (401) 709-8987
Rhode Island Lawyer
  Home   Contact Me   About Me   Fees   FAQ   RI DUI Laws
Welcome to RIDrunkDrivingDefense.com!  Your Criminal Defense Resource.

Rhode Island Assault Defense Lawyer

 Arrested on a  Sexual Assault Charge in Rhode Island?

All sexual assault charges are extremely serious felony charges under Rhode Island laws. Please contact me immediately to discuss your defense options if you are charged with sexual assault.

What is a Sexual Assault charge?

A charge of first degree sexual assault is the act of engaging in sexual penetration using force or coercion, or if the victim is deemed to be physically helpless, or mentally disabled or incapacitated and the accused is aware of that fact. Sexual assault in the first degree is the legal term for rape under Rhode Island's criminal laws & statutes.

A charge of second degree sexual assault is the act of engaging in sexual contact using force or coercion, or if the victim is deemed to be physically helpless, or mentally disabled or incapacitated and the accused is aware of that fact.

A charge of third degree sexual assault is the act of engaging in sexual penetration with a victim over the age of 14, and under the age of 16 (the age of consent). No coercion or force is necessary. Also commonly know as statutory rape.

A charge of first degree child molestation sexual assault is the act of engaging in sexual penetration with a victim under age of 14.

A charge of second degree child molestation sexual assault is the act of engaging in sexual contact with a victim under age of 14.

Assault - RI Laws & Penalties

Sexual Assault, first degree - The penalty for first degree sexual assault is a minimum of 10 years in prison, up to life in prison.

Sexual Assault, second degree - The penalty for second degree sexual assault in Rhode Island is a minimum of 3 years in prison and a maximum or 15 years.

Sexual Assault, third degree - The penalty for third degree sexual assault in Rhode Island is a maximum or 5 years in prison.

Assault with intent to commit sexual assault in the first degree is punishable with a minimum of 3 years in prison and a maximum or 15 years.

Sexual Assault, Child Molestation first degree - The penalty for first degree child molestation sexual assault is a minimum of 25 years to life in prison.

Sexual Assault, Child Molestation second degree - The penalty for first degree child molestation sexual assault is a minimum of 6 years to 30 years in prison.

Failure to Report a Sexual Assault - The penalty for failing to report a sexual assault in your presence that you are aware of is a misdemeanor charge, with up to one year in jail and a $500 fine.

Second or subsequent offenses of most sexual assault charges result in a doubling of the penalties

There are additional penalties if you are charged with assault on someone who qualifies as a domestic relation under the Domestic Violence Prevention Act.

 

Call me today for a free legal consultation on your assault, sexual assualt, or other criminal charge at (401) 709-8987.

 

Sincerely,

The Attorneys of RIDrunkDrivingDefense.com

Further Reference:

 

(401) 709-8987


    Home About Me Contact Me Web Resources    
 

2012 Get Lawyer Leads, Inc